A new portrait: reflections and new beginnings

A nostalgic moment follows the final sitting with my model Beth, on the final portrait to be painted in my current studio. For the past fourteen years I have been working in my small yet cosy space so it feels quite sad to be laying down my brushes and palette for the last time before moving to pastures new.

Despite it’s small size my painting room has served me well over the years. Now with so many canvases lining the walls, stacked up and balanced on top of anything that stays still for long enough it’s time to move on.

Paintings and memories of my many models over the years spring to mind, and that’s before I begin to dismantle the canvas racks and rediscover long lost work that hasn’t been seen for years.

So here’s to new beginnings, new paintings, familiar faces, and finally a more ambitious scale.

Beth 2012

Beth (detail) 2012

This entry was posted in London, Painting, Portraiture, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A new portrait: reflections and new beginnings

  1. Maxinie Mathews says:

    Here’s wishing you the best of luck and happiness in your new abode. and of course VERY happy painting!

Leave a Reply

