A Poppy for Bernard

'A Poppy for Bernard' oil on linen, 18 x 24cm

A Poppy for Bernard oil on linen 18x24cm

Almost a year ago I went to see the powerful and moving installation Blood Swept Lands and Seas of Red at the Tower of London. It was during the Roll of Honour in which the name of my great-uncle Bernard Dickinson was read out that I thought about painting one of the tower poppies in memory of him.

Alas I was not able to buy one as they were greatly in demand, but one of my students very kindly lent me hers to be able to paint this little homage.

This entry was posted in Painting, Still life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

